Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

File Uploads failing "ImageName" Did not upload. System Error


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 drinky

drinky

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 25 May 2005 - 02:47 AM

Hi,

I'm having problems uploading a .csv file to import into a datatable. The file is a 3mb spreadsheet. Here is a screen dump of the error message.

Posted Image

I've tried changing the file name to .jpg, still same error message. I've checked folder permissions and all is correct.

Is there a file upload limit?

I'm using v4.81 Build 05

Regards
BD

#2 demostorm

demostorm

    Senior Member

  • Moderators
  • 205 posts

Posted 25 May 2005 - 08:13 PM

Have you attempted to upload smaller files? that error message has been known to appear even with appropriate files and sizes when the permissions on the upload folders (like images and media) are incorrect. If you try uploading smaller files sizes and it still doesn't work then you may want to look into the permissions.

This is just a guess since I have never worked with spreadsheet files on Soholaunch and certainly nothing that size in any file format.

#3 drinky

drinky

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 26 May 2005 - 02:33 AM

Thanks for your reply.

Yes it does allow smaller file sizes. So it's certainly not a permissions error.

I normally wouldn't be uploading such a large file, but I have a client with a database of 20 000 records and wanted to see if Soho would handle importing this size database table.

I guess the option is to break down the csv into smaller segments, but would be great if I could do it in one go.

Any other advice greatly appreciated.

Regards
Brett Drinkwater
Tas Web Hosting Services

#4 broberts

broberts

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 44 posts

Posted 27 May 2005 - 06:14 PM

What I have seen in doing the same thing is that SohoLaunch is timing out the connection when you upload a large file like this. I have not looked into a fix for this since I just ftp'd the files to the server since I could not use soho to do it.
Bradley E. Roberts Jr.
LinkLv.Com
Owner/MCSE+I/CNE
E-mail: broberts@linklv.com
Microsoft Windows Hosting and Support
--------------------------------------------------------------
Register your Domain with LinkLvRegister.Com today for $7.95 year and lower!
WebTemplatesStore - Over 3000+ Website Templates for sale!
LinkLvPrinting.com for all your printing needs
--------------------------------------------------------------

#5 drinky

drinky

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 28 May 2005 - 01:04 AM

Thanks Bradley,

I've been given the solution by Soho Support.

All I had to do was modify the servers php.ini file. This was limiting how large a file PHP could upload. I also split the csv file into two 1.5mb files, just to be on the safe side, but the upload was successful.

Your suggestion is good, but the end users of Soho aren't familiar with ftp and I wanted them to be able to do everything from the Soho site admin.

Thanks again

Brett Drinkwater

#6 tittelba

tittelba

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 15 September 2005 - 12:37 AM

"I've been given the solution by Soho Support. "
What was the solution. I"m having the same problem.

Thanks,
Tom

#7 chuckdet

chuckdet

    Soho Novice

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 15 September 2005 - 01:37 PM

I cannot find the php.ini file to modify, where is it located???

#8 Cameron Allen

Cameron Allen

    Senior Member

  • Administrators
  • 671 posts

Posted 15 September 2005 - 02:43 PM

I believe the cpanel norm for the file is:
/usr/local/lib/php.ini

Excercise caution when editing this file, it controls all php functions for your entire server! Also will need to restart apache for any changes you make to take effect. You can do so in WHM.
Cameron Allen
Director of Technical Services
Soholaunch.com Inc ...Website Building Made Easy

#9 3to2

3to2

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 11 October 2005 - 03:54 AM

First Time User of Soholaunch.

System Error appears trying to upload our MP3 to the site, but if I cancel it halfway through it allows a small piece.

When trying to enter ftp site to apply the MP3 that way, it reckons there is an error, and won't let me connect?

#10 Cameron Allen

Cameron Allen

    Senior Member

  • Administrators
  • 671 posts

Posted 12 October 2005 - 12:54 AM

3to2, It may be that your host doesn't allow users to upload mp3's if you can't upload using FTP. The default max_upload size set by php is 2mbs, so if you want to upload files larger than 2mbs using Soholaunch, you need to have your host change the max_upload size.
Cameron Allen
Director of Technical Services
Soholaunch.com Inc ...Website Building Made Easy




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users